New Divisions

According to Teddy Greenstein of, the new divisions in the Big Ten will be as thus:

According to a report on — ESPN/ABC is a Big Ten television partner — and also reported by the Associated Press, Division 1 will have Northwestern, Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State and Minnesota.

Division II will be made up of Illinois, Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue and Indiana.

The Big Ten will officially disclose its six-team divisions — and 2011 and 2012 schedules — at 6 p.m. Chicago time during a 90-minute show on the Big Ten Network. Commissioner Jim Delany will be in studio.

The Ohio State-Michigan game will continue to be played at the end of the regular season, according to the Associated Press. [Man, is that a shocker or what.  I would never have dreamed that!]

The other yearly cross-over games reportedly will be:Northwestern-Illinois, Penn State-Nebraska, Wisconsin-Minnesota, Purdue-Iowa and Indiana-Michigan State.

Perhaps the only better scenario for PSU would have been to swap Nebraska and OSU, but since we already have OSU as a dedicated team, the schedule would look pretty much the same anyway–i.e. we would play both every year anyway.


1 Comment

Filed under Big Ten, football, Penn State

One response to “New Divisions

  1. Fun fact of the day: Who would have ever thought Deon Butler would be playing under Pete Carroll as a starter in Seattle, one year removed from playing for Paterno at PSU…Crazy huh!? Glad to see him do well in the preseason game last night!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s